Hide table of contents

Cost Effectiveness of Climate Change

(Epistemic status: Low confidence in end result. I’m not an expert, and I am likely to be overlooking something important. The methodology is informative and there are good links.)

How cost effective is it to help people by preventing global warming? How cost-effective is it, on the margin, to remove CO2 from the atmosphere or prevent carbon from entering the atmosphere? Is it possible to get an answer denominated in cost per life saved?  

Edit: Answer: It is possible, but this essay is too oversimplified to get to that answer. Based on discussion in the comments, I think this model is making an inappropriate linearity assumption that hides a steeper gradient on the margin. You might find this exercise informative, but I believe this question's framing distorts the answer by about an order of magnitude. 

Let’s look at this equation:

(Cost Per Life Saved) = (Cost Per Ton of CO2) * (Tons of CO2 Per 1°C Warming) * (Expected Degrees Warming) / (Lives Lost Due to Climate Change)

There are a lot of unknowns and many of these terms will change due to technological or social changes, but let’s try to estimate them. 

Edit: TL;DR: If we guess at these numbers, it costs about 50,000 $750,000 per life saved if you want to save lives by eliminating carbon from the atmosphere. However, I believe this is an overestimate by a factor of 10. See here for a different analysis which yields a significantly lower cost. 

Part 1: Cost Per Ton of CO2

How much money do you have to spend to make there be one less ton of CO2 in the atmosphere? 

Edit: Most of these numbers are misleadingly large, and cheaper interventions appear to be available. See note at end.