Future of Life Institute

EditHistoryHelp improve this page
EditHistoryHelp improve this page

The Future of Life Institute (FLI) is a non-profit that works to reduce existential risk from powerful technologies, particularly artificial intelligence, and to promote positive visions of the future. FLI's work consists of grantmaking, educational outreach, and advocating for better policymaking in the United Nations, the United States government, and European Union institutions.


FLI was founded in 2014 by Jaan Tallinn, Max Tegmark, Viktoriya Krakovna, Anthony Aguirre and Meia Chita-Tegmark.

Future of Life Award

Every year, FLI awards a prize, named the Future of Life Award, to an individual judged to have had an extraordinary positive social impact but whose contributions are not widely recognized. As of December 2021, eight people have been so honored: Vasili Arkhipov (2017), Stanislav Petrov (2018), Matthew Meselson (2019), Viktor Zhdanov and William Folge (2020), and Joe Farman, Susan Solomon and Stephen Andersen (2021).[1]...

(Read More)