Hide table of contents

Author's Note: this is my entry for the Edit Your Source Code Contest. I am an undergrad student at RIT, NY.

commit 85a4c4f37966a739e88c0a4c70946bd4 (HEAD -> master)
Author: demo
Date: Thu Oct 27 09:38:12 2022 -0400
Initial mind state

I'm sitting in Intro Psych on a Thursday, I think, and I'm staring at a black square with my mind on it.

Well, not technically "a black square with my mind on it". It was more of a rectangle, with the little flip-out keyboard coming out the bottom of the shiny screen. And my mind wasn't "on" the device. For most people, their mind is stored in their brain, more or less. Mine was just 7 miles away, on a cluster of cloud servers.

On my phone, a story open on reddit. Stocks down a bit. Emissions.

The people at Brainle, LLC's AI lab made this PDA-laptop thingy, and I got in early on the beta. They also own the servers with my mind on them. I type commands and touch the screen of my PDA, those go to the servers, my mind changes. "My brain" is just a chip implanted in my skull, mirroring what's on those servers. And "I" am sitting, as usual, with myself at my fingertips and zero clue what to do.

commit 564309daf5b1d832367a8cc330a5ba93 (HEAD -> master)
Author: nkross
Date: Thu Oct 27 10:58:37 2022 -0400
test

It's near the end of class, and I still haven't pushed a real change to my source code. 90 minutes have passed since I got it at the nurse's office. I notice I am frustrated myself for wasting 90 minutes, wasting any minutes, wasting a second, wasting there goes another second staring at the PDA. And no ideas for how to change my mind.

That sounds really dumb, wouldn't I jump at the chance to modify my brain's code? But see, I have ADHD. Not the fun kind, where you take cocaine-and-skydiving lessons and grow up to be a billionaire or a crime lord. No, I have the "inattentive" type, where you sit in a pile of laundry and scroll through reddit for 9 hours a day.