Hide table of contents

Introducing EA Talkmasters

What is it?

A way to practice public speaking in a friendly and supportive group of peers.

Who is it for?

Anyone who wants to gain experience and develop more comfort and confidence in public speaking, regardless of your background.

I get stagefright or panic attacks when I speak - could this help?

Likely yes. 

As a friendly low stakes environment it's a good way to gain repeated exposure and practice, and can complement other methods (eg CBT).

Where does it take place?

We'll be meeting regularly on zoom. 

What's the cost?

It's all free and volunteer based. We'll be rotating roles.

How does it work?

The agenda for the meetings is loosely based on the Toastmasters structure, which is good mix of prepared and adhoc, speaking and evaluation - with plenty of ways to participate. 

Can I join as a guest?

Yes. You can join any of the meetings as a guest to get a feel for how it works.

When is the next meeting?

The first meeting is this weekend (as of time of writing) on zoom:

Melbourne, Australia  Sun, 24 Sep 2023 at 6:00 am AEST
London, United Kingdom Sat, 23 Sep 2023 at 9:00 pm BST
Los Angeles, USA      Sat, 23 Sep 2023 at 1:00 pm PDT
New York, USA         Sat, 23 Sep 2023 at 4:00 pm EDT

We'll be treating the first few meetings as a chance to debug and finetune the structure. Expect rough edges as it's the first time we're doing it.

How do I join?

Fill out the form here 
Add the event to your calendar here
View the meeting agenda here

We confirm roles before the meeting so do sign up as soon as possible if would like to join. To make it useful there are attendance limits for participation.

Apart from joining, how else can I get involved?

Looking for some other folks to help form the core organizers on an ongoing basis. If you have experience with Toastmasters or are keen to help out, do get in touch

Comments2
Sorted by Click to highlight new comments since: Today at 12:35 PM

This is a great idea! I participated in Toastmasters for a few years in my career and got a lot out of it. Public speaking is hard and getting practice in a low stakes setting was hugely beneficial for me. This allow you to get great feedback from other experienced presenters, and also helps desensitize yourself to the potential feelings of anxiety that can come from public speaking. I plan to be joining a few sessions and giving a talk myself! 

When is the next event and how do I sign up?

Thanks and likewise, got and continue to get a lot out of Toastmasters, and trying to extend that benefit to EA community, especially those who can't get to a local club in person. Please use the same form, organizing the next event shortly and will reach out to all the emails via the form to call for roles etc. Thanks