Questions for Peter Singer's fireside chat in EAGxAPAC this weekend

by Wanyi1 min read19th Nov 20204 comments

25

Ask Me Anything
Frontpage

Hi everyone, I’m hosting a 25-minute fireside chat with Peter Singer in the EAGxAPAC conference happening this weekend, and I’d love to hear your suggestions on what questions I should ask him. 

The fireside chat is happening at 08:00 AM UTC / 4:00 PM GMT+8 / 7:00PM AEDT on Sunday 22nd November. 

Please post questions at least one hour before the event for them to be considered.

Thanks in advance!

4 comments, sorted by Highlighting new comments since Today at 3:21 AM
New Comment

Has Singer ever said anything about s-risks? If not, I’m curious to hear his thoughts, especially concerning how his current view compares to what he would’ve thought during his time as a preference utilitarian.

Does he have a position on moral uncertainty and, if so, what does he takes implications to be?

What does he think about the idea that we can't really justify giving to global health charities because we are clueless about the long-term impacts of doing so. For example, we should expect such giving to have impacts on population size now and in the future but it is highly unclear if the net effect of this is positive or negative in moral terms, and it doesn't seem OK to just ignore this and assume it equals zero in expected value.

Or just generally his thoughts on the problem of cluelessness and how we should respond to it.

Has he given any more thought to the argument Tyler gave here that eating wild-caught fish is ethically acceptable, because the alternative to our catching them is a similarly unpleasant natural death?