[ Question ]

Who should / is going to win 2020 FLI award 2020?

by Ramiro1 min read11th Jun 20208 comments




Every year, the Future of Life Institute (FLI) awards U$50,000 to an unsung hero - an "individual who, without receiving much recognition at the time, has helped make today dramatically better than it may otherwise have been". Previously, the prize went to Vasili Arkhipov, S. Petrov and Matthew Meselson.

I think it might be interesting to discuss the subject in this Forum.

On the other hand... well, there's money to be made. Maybe that's why people don't debate it openly?

New Answer
Ask Related Question
New Comment

1 Answers

I don't know who would win, but if people are taking nominations I'd like to nominate Maurice Hilleman:

Maurice Ralph Hilleman (August 30, 1919 – April 11, 2005) was an American microbiologist who specialized in vaccinology and developed over 40 vaccines, an unparalleled record of productivity. Of the 14 vaccines routinely recommended in current vaccine schedules, he developed eight: those for measles, mumps, hepatitis A, hepatitis B, chickenpox, meningitis, pneumonia and Haemophilus influenzae bacteria. He also played a role in the discovery of the cold-producing adenoviruses, the hepatitis viruses, and the potentially cancer-causing virus SV40.