If you're new to the EA Forum, consider using this thread to introduce yourself! 

You could talk about how you found effective altruism, what causes you work on and care about, or personal details that aren't EA-related at all. 

(You can also put this info into your Forum bio.)

If you have something to share that doesn't feel like a full post, add it here! 

(You can also create a Shortform post.)

Open threads are also a place to share good news, big or small. See this post for ideas.

Reactions

Comments38
Sorted by Click to highlight new comments since: Today at 11:09 AM

Hi everyone,

Just wanted to introduce myself. I'm a musician and writer based in Boston. And I'm never not thinking about climate change. 

I found EA after looking up the word "longtermism" which peaked my interest after reading the Vox article "How to be a good ancestor." Never before has an "ism" so clicked with my own personal philosophy, and it felt like a relief to find a community that explores these ideas with such a clear-minded and logical approach.

Thank you all for caring.

Welcome! Glad you found us.

Hi,

maybe you find this overview of longtermism interesting if you have not already found it:

Intro to Longtermism | Fin Moorhouse

Hi Brendon :-) 

I'm also really curious about climate change and identifying neglected problems! (Ex: plant fewer trees, better monitor how much CO2 those trees absorb)

I'm kinda just a student though :D I'm from Toronto and I always found myself wondering HOW to act on my desire to impact neglected climate issues. Did you ever feel that way in your career? (I ask because most musicians/writers aren't extremely active with climate change, so you maybe were in a niche community too?)

[anonymous]3y17

Hi everyone,

I'm an academic researcher, and came across EA this year while reflecting on possible future research areas & career paths. I'm really enjoying combing through all these posts!